Connectedness by Sandra Danby

• R E V I E W •

Sandra Danby does it again, only this time, I felt she did it better. It could have been that I was able to connect more with Connectedness than the first of this series, Ignoring Gravity. More so in the sense of her reflections of her parents. My children are getting older, and while I try not to think too hard about what they have hidden, are hiding, and will hide from me, I expect it because I was once young and did the same. There is no such thing as total transparency between child and parent. I believe that.

This is the second novel in the Identity Detective series. However, it can be read as a stand-alone. Though I don’t recommend it because the tie-in is very well-done and beautiful. You would be shorting yourself the importance of the moment.

Justine’s life, art, surroundings, and relationships are both realistically detailed and engaging. In truth, it doesn’t stop there. The other characters are equally as enjoyable to read and play a crucial part in Justine’s journey – past, present, and future.

A fantastic read.

Grab your copy!

book • details

T I T L E: Connectedness

S E R I E S:  Identity Detective (Nº 2)

A U T H O R: Sandra Danby

P U B L I S H • D A T E : May 10, 2018

P U B L I S H E R: Beulah Press

I S B N:  9780993113437

Literary Fiction, Woman’s Fiction

Connectedness-danby

TO THE OUTSIDE WORLD, ARTIST JUSTINE TREE HAS IT ALL… BUT SHE ALWAYS HAS A SECRET THAT THREATENS TO DESTROY EVERYTHING

Justine’s art sells around the world, but does anyone truly know her? When her mother dies, she returns to her childhood home in Yorkshire where she decides to confront her past. She asks journalist Rose Haldane to find the baby she gave away when she was an art student, but only when Rose starts to ask difficult questions does Justine truly understand what she must face.

Is Justine strong enough to admit the secrets and lies of her past? To speak aloud the deeds she has hidden for 27 years, the real inspiration for her work that sells for millions of pounds. Could the truth trash her artistic reputation? Does Justine care more about her daughter, or her art? And what will she do if her daughter hates her?

This tale of art, adoption, romance and loss moves between now and the Eighties, from London’s art world to the bleak isolated cliffs of East Yorkshire and the hot orange blossom streets of Málaga, Spain.

A family mystery for fans of Maggie O’Farrell, Lucinda Riley, Tracy Rees and Rachel Hore.

I received a copy via the NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 
SUBSCRIBE TO WORD GURGLE

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.